Young Philharmonic Ensemble

The "Young Philharmonic Ensemble," a collaborative project between the Mainz Philharmonic State Orchestra and the JGU School of Music, allows students from the Orchestral programs of study to gain early insights into professional practice. Since the 2007/08 winter semester, selected students can take part in rehearsals and performances of works from all areas – concert, musical theater, and ballet. As well as piece-oriented work, the program also encompasses audition training and guidance by the appropriate vocal groups of the Philharmonic State Orchestra. Qualified students are usually accepted into the Young Philharmonic Ensemble for one season.

The collaboration agreed upon also includes a prize which can be awarded within the scope of the School of Music's "Concert Exam" competition, whereby the winners get to play a solo concert with the Philharmonic State Orchestra. This is decided upon by the Chief Conductor of the Philharmonic State Orchestra and General Music Director of the Mainz State Theater, Hermann Bäumer.

Members of the Young Philharmonic Ensemble:

Season 2018/19:

  • Violin: Javier Carbone / Marta Kovalova
  • Flute: Sakina Togashi

Season 2017/18:

  • Violin: Fatima Merino de Asis, Ariane Jay
  • Viola: Constantin Vlad
  • Flute: Julian Sauer, Sophie-Therese Löser
  • Oboe: Johannes Christ
  • Clarinet: Mathilde Uhlig

Season 2016/17:

  • Violin: Maria Schönwälder / Jaeho Lee / Anetta Mukurdumova

Season 2015/16:

  • Violin: Hyojin Yang / Marlene Crone / Stanimir Arabov

Season 2014/15:

  • Violin: Hyojin Yang / Jinsil Choi
  • Flute: Kyungho Park
  • Oboe: Raphael Winter
  • Clarinet: Anne Voit

Season 2013/14:

  • Violin: Stanimir Arabov / Esther Owusu
  • Violoncello: Lisa Wohlfarth
  • Flute: Eszter Simon / Ilkoo An
  • Bassoon: Tzu-I Huang

Season 2012/13:

  • Violin: Assel Atageldieva
  • Viola: Leonie Wittchow
  • Violoncello: Shirin Tashibayeva
  • Flute: Marija Milosavljevic / Kyoung Kim / Tomoyo Kusumi
  • Horn: Benedicte Elnes

Season 2011/12:

  • Violin: Victor Bustamante
  • Violoncello: Emily Härtel
  • Flute: Marija Spasic / Julia Palac
  • Horn: Katja Keller / Moritz Haas
  • Bassoon: Leon Kranich
  • Trumpet: Marc Kienle